What is a school governor?

School governors are volunteers who help to run the school. Most schools work with a group of school governors – together they’re called the ‘governing body’. They’re involved in decisions about all aspects of managing the school – such as running buildings and budgets, supporting staff and setting standards of school discipline.

Governors also help to make big decisions about the school’s long-term goals. They support headteachers, but also ask questions and make sure the headteacher is taking the school in the right direction.

Below is a list of the current Priory Academy Governing Body.

  Contact (through school office 01909 478886 unless separate email shown) START DATE END DATE

DIOCESAN GOVERNORS (7)

 

     

The Reverend Nicolas Spicer

(Incumbent – ex-officio)

nspicer@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 19 Nov 2007  

VACANCY

(DBE nomination)

(following resignation of Mr Ian Barnes on 12 Sept 2018)

 –    

Mrs Mary Howe

(DBE nomination)

 

mhowe@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 14 June 2017 13 June 2021

Mrs Lucy Vernon     (Chair)

(DBE nomination)

lvernon@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk

07979 016920

1 Sept 2018 31 August 2022

Mrs Helen Hurt

(PCC nomination)

hhurt@worksopppriory.snmat.org.uk 1 Sept 2014 31 Aug 2022

Mrs Sara Daly

(PCC nomination)

sdaly@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 1 Sept 2018 31 August 2022

Mr Robert Thistlethwaite

(PCC nomination)

rthistlethwaite@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 1 Sept 2016 31 Aug 2020

STAFF GOVERNORS (2)

 

     

 

Mrs Susan Rawson

(Head of School)

srawson@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 1 Sept 2018  

Mr Callum Anderson

(Staff Governor)

canderson@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 11 Dec 2018 10 Dec 2022

PARENT GOVERNORS (2)

 

     
Mr Craig Barnett cbarnett@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 14 June 2017

13 June 2021

 

 

Anna Bagshaw abagshaw@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 6 July 2018 5 July 2022

LA (1)

 

     

Mrs Gwynneth Jones

gjones@worksoppriory.snmat.org.uk 7 Jan 2017 6 Jan 2021
ASSOCIATE MEMBER      

 

Mr Phil Abbott

(executive headteacher)

pabbott@trinitypartnership.snmat.org.uk 1 Sept 2011